Spare the Rod or “Whup that ass?”:Marc Anthony Neal’s Piece on Spanking

Dedicating this blog to Mark Anthony Neal’s (Professor at Duke University) recently penned interesting (and, I think, hilarious!) article regarding spanking. Like Neal, I can vividly remember gettin’ tow up (or severely disciplined for those not familiar with the vernacular) at various points growing up and I think I turned out alright (I can already hear the jokes coming from my friends :)).

To spank or not to spank? And, perhaps, what constitutes spanking? When does spanking become abuse?

Enjoy the article and I look forward to reading your thoughts.

About bens3rd
I am a PhD candidate in Christian Theology and Social in the joint program at the University of Denver & Iliff School of Theology. I blog here when my Facebook posts get too long.

Leave a Reply

